Aspire Alliance Teaching Online in Fall 2020 Short-Course

Starts:  Jul 21, 2020 3:00 PM (CT)
Ends:  Aug 6, 2020 4:30 PM (CT)
Associated with  NSF INCLUDES National Network
Join the NSF INCLUDES Aspire Alliance's National Change Team for our short-course that will
walk instructors through the process of designing an online course that is effective, equitable and inclusive. It will focus on designing content and choosing pedagogy for both synchronous and asynchronous formats, and will engage participants through both types of sessions. The course will address the basics of online and inclusive pedagogy. Over the three weeks, participants will design their own online course materials.

Registration will be limited to 150 participants and spots are filling quickly, so please register soon to secure your spot!

Sessions:

Synchronous sessions will be held from: 1:00-2:30 pm PT / 2:00-3:30 pm MT / 3:00-4:30 pm CT / 4:00-5:30 pm ET (United States time zones) on the following dates:

  • Workshop #1 - Tuesday, July 21st

  • Workshop #2 - Thursday, July 23rd

  • Workshop #3 & #4 - ASYNCHRONOUS - week of July 27th

  • Workshop #5 - Tuesday, August 4th

  • Workshop #6 - Thursday, August 6th

Learning Outcomes:

As a result of participating in this short-course, participants will be able to:

  • Describe key principles of effective online pedagogy;
  • Apply the process of backward design to both synchronous and asynchronous online teaching and learning environments;
  • Experience strategies and approaches to promoting inclusion and equity in the online setting;
  • Navigate online tools such as asynchronous course management systems (e.g., Canvas, Moodle) as well as synchronous meeting tools (e.g., Blackboard Collaborate Ultra); and
  • Create their own materials for an upcoming online course.
Please direct any questions to Shannon Patton at shannon.patton@wisc.edu. Thanks!

Location

Online Instructions:
Url: http://www.aspirealliance.org/national-change/national-change-events#h.p_bPPxyGzkytsP
Login: Registration is limited to 150 participants. Please register by following our website link, and we will follow up with more information on how to connect to the sessions and access all related materials.